You are about to be logged out due to inactivity. Would you like to stay logged on?
It's the law... According to Texas law, not paying a toll is a misdemeanor offense. A late fee of $4.00 will be applied to all monthly statements with a past due amount.
Toll road users without a TxTag will be charged at higher Pay By Mail toll rates and be mailed a bill for their tolls with an additional $1.15 statement fee.
Tips to help avoid extra fees:
- Keep money in your TxTag account. If you do not have enough money in your TxTag account to pay your tolls, you will be charged at the higher Pay By Mail rates until your account is replenished. Customers can sign up to receive low balance notifications via email or text message.
- Sign up for auto-replenishment through AutoPay. In addition to ensuring you'll have money in your TxTag account, you'll receive your new or replacement TxTag stickers for free. Customers not on AutoPay are charged $7.99 for each sticker tag.
- Pay statements online. The best way to avoid late fees is to pay your statements online by the due date. If you pay your bill through a bank or other third-party service, the payment may not be processed in time and a late fee may be applied to your account.
- Ensure your account information is up to date. It's important to keep current your license plate, vehicle, and credit card information to prevent billing errors.
- Update your TxTag account when you get a new license plate. When a TxTag is not read properly by the toll equipment, we attempt to match the license plate on the vehicle to a TxTag account. If your new license plate is not linked to your TxTag account, you’ll receive a bill in the mail with the tolls charged at the higher Pay By Mail rates.
- Update your vehicle registration information if you move. By law, statements must be mailed to the vehicle owner at the address listed in the state's vehicle registration records, even if registration renewal notices go to a different address. If you have moved, update the mailing address on your TxTag account and download Form VTR-146 to update the address on your vehicle title. If your address information on file with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles is not current, you may not receive statements on time, which could result in late payment charges.
- Notify us if your vehicle is sold or stolen. You must deactivate your TxTag by logging into your account or contacting the TxTag Customer Service Center as soon as possible if your vehicle is sold or stolen. If you receive a toll statement for a vehicle you no longer own, file a Vehicle Transfer Notification Form (VTR-346) with the Texas DMV and call us at 1-888-468-9824 after you receive confirmation of the title transfer.
Visit our FAQs page or TxTag License and Use Agreement for more information about fees.