You are about to be logged out due to inactivity, would you like to stay logged on?
What is a Pay By Mail statement?
You will receive a Pay By Mail statement or bill if you drive on a TxDOT-owned toll road without an active TxTag, Dallas TollTag, Houston EZ TAG, Kansas K-TAG, or Oklahoma PIKEPASS. The bill will include a $1.15 statement fee, and your tolls will be charged at the higher Pay By Mail toll rates.
How can I pay my bill?
It’s quick and easy to pay online. Go to Pay A Bill and log in with your account number or license plate number. You can also make a payment through our automated phone service by calling 1-888-468-9824.
What happens if I don’t pay a bill?
If you fail to pay a bill on time, a $4.00 late fee will be applied to your account and appear on your next month’s bill. You can resolve past due bills online or by contacting the TxTag Customer Service Center.
The table below shows how an unpaid toll bill for $5.75 increases over time and can lead to legal action if not resolved.
|First Statement||Tolls + Mail Fee||$4.60 + $1.15||$5.75|
|Past Due Statement||Add 2nd Mail Fee + Late Fee||$5.75 + $1.15 + $4.00||$10.90|
|Final Notice||Add 3rd Mail Fee + 2nd Late Fee||$10.90 + $1.15 + $4.00||$16.05|
|Eligible for Collections||Balance due sent to Collections||$16.05 + $1.15 + $4.00||$21.20|
|Eligible for Court||Tolls + up to $250 Court Fine|
I have a TxTag. Why did I get a bill with Pay By Mail tolls?
You will receive a bill in the mail if there is not enough money in your TxTag account to cover the cost of your tolls. The bill will include a statement fee, and tolls will be charged at higher Pay By Mail rates until your TxTag account is replenished. By signing up for AutoPay, your account will be automatically replenished with a credit/debit card or bank account when it drops to a preset low balance amount, so you never have to worry about how much money is in your TxTag account.
You could also receive a Pay By Mail bill if your TxTag was not detected on the toll road and your license plate does not match an existing tag account. Contact the TxTag Customer Service Center so we can move your tolls to your TxTag account and update your license plate information.
I drove on the toll roads and have not received a bill in the mail. What should I do?
Drivers without a TxTag should receive a bill within three weeks of using a TxDOT-owned toll road. You can search for your Pay By Mail bill online by clicking Pay A Bill and entering your license plate number. If you need additional assistance, contact the TxTag Customer Service Center at 1-888-468-9824 (International: 001-214-210-0493) to avoid late fees.
If you haven't received a bill, it may be because the address on your vehicle title is not current. To update your vehicle title information, visit the Texas DMV's Vehicle Registration Page.
I have a TxTag, but I received a bill or violation notice from another toll agency. What should I do?
If you receive a bill or violation notice from another toll agency, you will need to resolve payment directly with that agency, even if you have a TxTag account. However, you should also log into your TxTag account or call the TxTag Customer Service Center to make sure your account information, including license plate number, is up to date. You must have your TxTag sticker installed on your windshield and have your license plate number up to date in order to use your account on toll roads in Texas, Oklahoma, and Kansas managed by these toll authorities:
- North Texas Tollway Authority (TollTag) 1-972-818-6882
- Harris County Toll Road Authority (EZ TAG) 1-281-875-3279
- Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority 1-833-762-8655
- Kansas Turnpike Authority (K-TAG) 1-316-652-2650
- Oklahoma Turnpike Authority (PIKEPASS) 1-800-745-3727
Someone else was driving my car at the time of the toll transaction. Do I have to pay?
Yes. Under Texas law, the owner of the vehicle is responsible for any toll charges and fees, regardless of who was driving at the time.
Can I dispute a toll statement?
The registered owner of the vehicle is responsible for all tolls and late fees. There are three exemptions to this responsibility, which must be submitted in writing:
- The vehicle was sold or transferred to another party before the toll transaction occurred.
- The vehicle was leased or rented to another party before the toll transaction occurred.
- The vehicle was reported stolen before the toll transaction occurred.
I have a TxTag, why have I not received a statement?
Statements will be sent to you only if your account has a balance due during the statement cycle, but you may view and download your statements at any time by signing into your TxTag account and clicking on “Transactions.”